Lake Louise, Banff National Park, AB
This iconic lake was named by the Canadian Pacific Railway for Louise Caroline Alberta (1848-1939). The locals originally called it the Lake of the Little Fishes. The town and station stop had initially been called Laggan by the CPR. The CPR has had a chalet at the northern end of the lake since 1890, subject to interruption by fire in 1892 and 1924. Since the rebuilding of 1925, the Chateau Lake Louise has become one of the premier resorts of North America.
top of page